Pandanet Pandanet

World Mind Games Online Tournament 2014 -Pandanet Cup-


* Final Rounds

Game results of the Final Rounds  
Main Class 1st and 2nd Round 
Europe & Africa / North and South America / Asia & Oceania
Main Class 3rd to final Round 
World
A-C Class  
A-Class / B-Class / C-Class

The tournament table of A-C class will be published in November 10.

* Preliminary Rounds

Game results of the Preliminary Rounds  
Main Class  
Europe & Africa / North and South America / Asia & Oceania
A Class  
Europe & Africa / North and South America / Asia & Oceania
B Class  
Europe & Africa / North and South America / Asia & Oceania
C Class  
Europe & Africa / North and South America / Asia & Oceania

Tournament Outline

*This tournament serves as the 19th Pandanet Cup Internet World Amateur Go Tournament concurrently.

  • Tournament name: World Mind Games Online Tournament 2014 – Pandanet Cup -
  • Organiser: The International Go Federation , Pandanet Inc.
  • Special cooperation: SportAccord , World Pair Go Association
  • System cooperation: Pandanet Inc.

Class

There are four categories. One is the Main Class and the others are Ranked Classes (A-C Classes).

  • Main Class (You can participate in the Main Class regardless of your Go strength.)
  • A Class (2d – 3k)
  • B Class (4k – 7k)
  • C Class (8k – 17k)

*If you are 3d or above, your class will be Main Class automatically.
*People who hope to participate in A~C Class and have not been confirmed of their rank by Pandanet, need to play at least 20 games and be confirmed of their rank by September 30. If a question mark appears next to the rank, it means the rank has not been officially confirmed by Pandanet.
 

Playing Rules

Time allowance



The time allowance is 10 minutes per side,
with overtime of 25 moves every 15minutes
Playing Conditions



All games are played even,
with Black giving a komi of 6.5 points
Color Colors are determined by the system automatically

 

Preliminary Rounds

  • Participants play freely at least six games in their Class room during the Preliminary Rounds. Participants are not allowed to play with the same person twice.
  • The top 64 players from the Main Class and the top 16 players, selected from the Ranked Classes can proceed to the Final Rounds.

*Selection into the Final Rounds is based on ranking, see below. In addition, ranking comparison is decided within each of the three regional groups (Asia & Oceania, Europe & Africa, North and South America).
*Main Class 64 players (Asia & Oceania 32, Europe & Africa 16, North and South America 16)
*A-C Class 16 players each Class (Asia & Oceania 8, Europe & Africa 4, North and South 4)

The ranking is determined by points in descending order.

  1. 1. Points = W / N + W * 0.02 (W = number of wins, N = number of games played)
    Example: you win 3 out of 6 games, you collect 3/6 + 3 * 0.02 = 0.56 points.
    Example: you win 4 out of 8 games, you collect 4/8 + 4 * 0.02 = 0.58 points.
  2. With tied points, player with higher number of wins is ranked higher.
  3. With tied points and wins, player with higher number of SOS (sum of opponents’ score) is ranked higher.
  4. With tied points, wins, and SOS, the players are ranked equal.

[ Click here for details ]
 

Final Rounds

  • In the Final Rounds, single eliminations are played until a champion is determined. The organizer decides the playing combination in a drawing. In the Main Class, 1st and 2nd are regional rounds and 3rd to 6th rounds are rounds with mixed groups. In the Ranked Classes, all rounds are rounds with mixed groups.

[ Click here for details ]
 

Schedule

August 1 (Fri) – September 30 (Tue) Registration
October 8 (Wed) – October 28 (Tue) Preliminary Rounds
November 4 (Tue) – November 13 (Thu) Final Rounds by region(Main Class only)
November 18 (Tue) – November 29 (Sat) Final Rounds (All Classes)
In order to extend the application deadline, the tournament dates have been put back a little. (Sep 2nd, 2014)

Preliminary Rounds Schedule

Participants can play freely at any time during the Preliminary Rounds period.

Final Rounds Schedule(Main Class only)

DateTimeMain Class
Nov 4 (Tue)See below Playing pairings will be update on the Pandanet web site
Nov 11 (Tue)See below1st round
Nov 13 (Thu)See below2nd round
*NOTE: The playing time changes according to your opponent’s regional group.

Asia & Oceania:JST 8:00pm (GMT 11:00am)
Europe & Africa:CET 8:00pm (GMT 7:00pm)
North and South America:PST 8:00pm (GMT 4:00am on the following day)

Final Rounds Schedule(All Classes)

DateTimeMain ClassA-C Classes
Nov 18 (Tue)See below Playing pairings will be update on the Pandanet web site
Nov 21 (Fri)See below3rd round1st round
Nov 23 (Sun)See below4th round2nd round
Nov 25 (Tue)See below5th round3rd round
Nov 27 (Thu)See belowSemi-finalsSemi-finals
Nov 29 (Sat)See belowFinalFinal
*NOTE: The playing time changes according to your opponent’s regional group.

Asia & Oceania vs. Asia & Oceania:JST 8:00pm (GMT 11:00am)
Europe & Africa vs. Europe & Africa:CET 7:00pm (GMT 6:00pm)
North and South America vs. North and South America:PST 7:00pm (GMT 3:00am on the following day)

Asia & Oceania vs. Europe & Africa:JST 8:00pm, CET 12:00pm (GMT 11:00am)
North and South America vs. Asia & Oceania:PST 7:00pm, JST 12:00pm on the following day (GMT 3:00am on the following day)
Europe & Africa vs. North and South America:CET 7:00pm, PST 10:00am (GMT 6:00pm)

*JST=Japan Standard Time (GMT+9)
CET=Central European Time (GMT+1)
PST=Pacific Standard Time (GTM-8)

 

Requirements for Participation

  • Participant must be an amateur Go player.
  • Participant must be able to communicate by email in English.
  • People who hope to participate in A~C Class and have not been confirmed of their rank by Pandanet, need to play at least 20 games and be confirmed of their rank by September 30. If a question mark appears next to the rank, it means the rank has not been officially confirmed by Pandanet.
  • Participants in the Main Class are not required to have their rank verified.
  • Players in the BC (beginner class) are not allowed to participate.
     

Notes

  • All games must be exclusive played on the Pandanet server. Please use Pandanet’s official client, GoPanda2 or Panda-Tetsuki. (Panda-Tetsuki is for iOS and android.)
  • Please play in the official Pandanet tournament room.
  • Please play games by yourself. Taking advice from a third person, or playing by a third person, is against the rules.
  • In principle, your games should be played from your home. Please let the organizer know in advance in case you want to play at another location other than your home, such as a Go club where many people gather. The organizer may check the origin of your Internet connection.
  • If you lower your rank intentionally by losing games before the tournament, you will not be allowed to participate.
  • Please exchange greetings when starting and finishing your games. Insulting comments are strictly prohibited. If you are treated impolitely, please let the organizers know.
  • Please resign the game if you think there is no hope of winning, instead of dragging out the game.
  • Likewise, please don’t tell your opponent to resign, even if your opponent is clearly losing. However, please let the organizers know if your opponent keeps playing useless moves and does not finish the game.
  • When the organizers finds out that you have violated the rules, you may be disqualified, even if the game result has been confirmed.
     

Participation Fee

Free of charge
 

Prizes

Main Class


Winner
  1. The 4th SportAccord World Mind Games Online Go Tournament Champion title will be awarded by SportAccord.
  2. The 19th Pandanet Cup Internet World Amateur Go Tournamentant Champion title will be awarded by Pandanet.
  3. USD1,500 by SportAccord
  4. Prize by Pandanet

Runner-up

  1. USD1,000 by SportAccord
  2. Prize by Pandanet

3rd place

  1. USD500 by SportAccord
  2. Prize by Pandanet

4th to 16th placePrize by Pandanet



Ranked Classes


Winner
(A and B Class)
  1. USD500 by SportAccord
  2. Prize by Pandanet
(C Class)
Prize by Pandanet

Runner-up
(A and B Class)
Rado Watch by SportAccord
(C Class)
Prize by Pandanet

3rd place
(A and B Class)
Samsung Tablet by SportAccord
(C Class)
Prize by Pandanet

4th to 8th place
(A-C Class)
Prize by Pandanet

  

Current Events

Pandanet in a Nutshell

Getting an account

Register

Pandanet client

GoPanda2

Android/iOS client

Pandanet (Go)

Manage your account

Recover password

Change your e-mail

View your games

Net Social Plaza

Rating graph

Learn how to play

Introduction to Go