Pandanet Pandanet

2013 SportAccord-Pandanet Cup Online Go Tournament

* Final Rounds
September 26 (Thu) – October 8 (Tue)

Main Class Winner
ID : RoseDuke [ South Africa ]
NAME : Mr. Victor Guang Chow

Game results of the Final Rounds  
Main Class  
3rd round – Final round
1st & 2nd round
Europe & Africa / North and South America / Asia & Oceania
A Class  
B Class  
C Class  
The way ranks are expressed in the tournament:
All games are played without handicaps. TEMPORARILY, FOR THE DURATION OF THE TOURNAMENT, the participating players’ true ranks are not displayed. Instead, their ranks are unified in the tournament room as below.
[Main Class] 8d / [A Class] 2d / [B Class] 4k / [C Class] 8k

* Preliminary Rounds

Game results of the Preliminary Rounds  
Main Class  
Europe & Africa / North and South America / Asia & Oceania
A Class  
Europe & Africa / North and South America / Asia & Oceania
B Class  
Europe & Africa / North and South America / Asia & Oceania
C Class  
Europe & Africa / North and South America / Asia & Oceania


Tournament Outline

*This tournament serves as the 18th Pandanet Cup Internet World Amateur Go Tournament concurrently.

The winner of the Final Rounds will receive an invitation to the 3rd SportAccord World Mind Games (a round-trip ticket to Beijing, accommodation, a commemorative medal and a certificate). There are also generous prizes by lottery!

  • Tournament name: 2013 SportAccord-Pandanet Cup Online Go Tournament
  • Organiser: The International Go Federation , Pandanet Inc.
  • Special cooperation: SportAccord , World Pair Go Association
  • System cooperation: Pandanet Inc.

Class

There are four categories. One is the Main Class and the others are Ranked Classes (A-C Classes).

  • Main Class (You can participate in the Main Class regardless of your Go strength.)
  • A Class (2d – 3k)
  • B Class (4k – 7k)
  • C Class (8k – 17k)

*If you are 3d or above, your class will be Main Class automatically.
*People who hope to participate in A~C Class and have not been confirmed of their rank by Pandanet, need to play at least 20 games and be confirmed of their rank by August 18. If a question mark appears next to the rank, it means the rank has not been officially confirmed by Pandanet.
 

Playing Rules

Time allowance



The time allowance is 10 minutes per side,
with overtime of 25 moves every 15minutes
Playing Conditions



All games are played even,
with Black giving a komi of 6.5 points
Color Colors are determined by the system automatically

 

Preliminary Rounds

  • Participants play freely at least six games in their Class room during the Preliminary Rounds. Participants are not allowed to play with the same person twice.
  • The top 64 players from the Main Class and the top 16 players, selected from the Ranked Classes can proceed to the Final Rounds.

*Selection into the Final Rounds is based on ranking, see below. In addition, ranking comparison is decided within each of the three regional groups (Asia & Oceania, Europe & Africa, North and South America).
*Main Class 64 players (Asia & Oceania 32, Europe & Africa 16, North and South America 16)
*A-C Class 16 players each Class (Asia & Oceania 8, Europe & Africa 4, North and South 4)

The ranking is determined by points in descending order.

  1. 1. Points = W / N + W * 0.02 (W = number of wins, N = number of games played)
    Example: you win 3 out of 6 games, you collect 3/6 + 3 * 0.02 = 0.56 points.
    Example: you win 4 out of 8 games, you collect 4/8 + 4 * 0.02 = 0.58 points.
  2. With tied points, player with higher number of wins is ranked higher.
  3. With tied points and wins, player with higher number of SOS (sum of opponents’ score) is ranked higher.
  4. With tied points, wins, and SOS, the players are ranked equal.

[ Click here for details ]
 

Final Rounds

  • In the Final Rounds, single eliminations are played until a champion is determined. The organizer decides the playing combination in a drawing. In the Main Class, 1st and 2nd are regional rounds and 3rd to 6th rounds are rounds with mixed groups. In the Ranked Classes, all rounds are rounds with mixed groups.

[ Click here for details ]
 

Schedule

June 28 (Fri) – August 18 (Sun) Registration period
August 22 (Thu) – September 12 (Thu) Preliminary Rounds
September 26 (Thu) – October 8 (Tue) Final Rounds

Preliminary Rounds Schedule

Participants can play freely at any time during the Preliminary Rounds period.

Final Rounds Schedule

Date Time Main Class A-C Class
Sep 26 (Thu) See below 1st round  
Sep 28 (Sat) See below 2nd round  
Oct 2 (Wed) See below 3rd round 1st round
Oct 4 (Fri) See below 4th round 2nd round
Oct 6 (Sun) See below Semi-finals Semi-finals
Oct 8 (Tue) See below Final Final
*NOTE: The playing time changes according to your opponent’s regional group.

Asia & Oceania vs. Asia & Oceania:JST 8:00pm (GMT 11:00am)
Europe & Africa vs. Europe & Africa:CEST 8:00pm (GMT 6:00pm)
North and South America vs. North and South America:PDT 8:00pm (GMT 3:00am on the following day)

Asia & Oceania vs. Europe & Africa:JST 8:00pm, CEST 1:00pm (GMT 11:00am)
North and South America vs. Asia & Oceania:PDT 8:00pm, JST 12:00pm on the following day (GMT 3:00am on the following day)
Europe & Africa vs. North and South America:CEST 8:00pm, PDT 11:00am (GMT 6:00pm)

*JST=Japan Standard Time (GMT+9)
CEST=Central European Summer Time (GMT+2)
PDT=Pacific Daylight Time (GTM-7)

 

Requirements for Participation

  • Participant must be an amateur Go player.
  • Participant must be able to communicate by email in English.
  • People who hope to participate in A~C Class and have not been confirmed of their rank by Pandanet, need to play at least 20 games and be confirmed of their rank by August 18. If a question mark appears next to the rank, it means the rank has not been officially confirmed by Pandanet.
  • Participants in the Main Class are not required to have their rank verified.
  • Players in the BC (beginner class) are not allowed to participate.
     

Notes

  • All games must be exclusive played on the Pandanet server. Please use Pandanet’s official client, GoPanda2 or Panda-Tetsuki. (Panda-Tetsuki is for iOS and android.)
  • Please play in the official Pandanet tournament room.
  • Please play games by yourself. Taking advice from a third person, or playing by a third person, is against the rules.
  • In principle, your games should be played from your home. Please let the organizer know in advance in case you want to play at another location other than your home, such as a Go club where many people gather. The organizer may check the origin of your Internet connection.
  • If you lower your rank intentionally by losing games before the tournament, you will not be allowed to participate.
  • Please exchange greetings when starting and finishing your games. Insulting comments are strictly prohibited. If you are treated impolitely, please let the organizers know.
  • Please resign the game if you think there is no hope of winning, instead of dragging out the game.
  • Likewise, please don’t tell your opponent to resign, even if your opponent is clearly losing. However, please let the organizers know if your opponent keeps playing useless moves and does not finish the game.
  • When the organizers finds out that you have violated the rules, you may be disqualified, even if the game result has been confirmed.
     

Participation Fee

Free of charge
 

Prizes

Main Class

Lottery prizes

Several players who have played six games or more at the Preliminary Rounds will receive a special present from SportAccord by lottery.

Winner
  1. The 3rd SportAccord World Mind Games Online Go Tournament Champion title will be awarded by SportAccord.
  2. Invitation to the 3rd SportAccord World Mind Games in Beijing (a round-trip ticket to Beijing , accommodation, a commemorative medal and a certificate) by SportAccord.
    The 3rd SportAccord World Mind Games in Beijing : December 12 - 18, 2013
  3. The 18th Pandanet Cup Internet World Amateur Go Tournamentant Champion title will be awarded by Pandanet.
  4. JPY 100,000 by Pandanet

Runner-up

JPY 30,000 by Pandanet

3rd to 16th place

Prize by Pandanet

Ranked Classes

Lottery prizes

Several players who have played six games or more at the Preliminary Round will receive a special present from SportAccord by lottery.

1st to 8th place (A-C Class)

Prize by Pandanet

  

Current Events

Pandanet in a Nutshell

Getting an account

Register

Pandanet client

GoPanda2

Android/iOS client

Pandanet (Go)

Manage your account

Recover password

Change your e-mail

View your games

Net Social Plaza

Rating graph

Learn how to play

Introduction to Go