Pandanet IGS Pandanet

Finals for the AGA City League A League

Team Los Angeles won the Pandanet-AGA City League A-League finals Saturday at the U.S. Congress in Tacoma, WA, defeating the Washington team 2-1 in hard-fought games. Beumgeon (Evan) Cho defeated Jie Li on Board 1, while Seung Hyun (Kevin) Hong beat Yuan Zhou on Board 3 in the afternoon games, broadcast live on Pandanet. Eric Lui, playing via Pandanet from Seoul Korea, where he’s playing in the Samsung Cup preliminaries for the AGA, scored DC’s only win by defeating Dae Hyuk (Daniel) Ko. Andy Okun captained the LA team. “We’re tremendously pleased with the results of our first year of the Pandanet AGA City League,” League Project Co-Manager Jon Boley reported to Congress attendees Saturday night at a brief awards ceremony. Twenty eight teams competed in four leagues: LA won the A League, Toronto won the B League, Chicago won in C League, and Brentwood, TN won the D League.

Board 1: Beomgeun Cho vs Jie Li – Winner: Beomgeun Cho Game Record
Board 2: Daniel Ko vs Eric Lui – Winner: Eric Lui Game Record
Board 3: Seung Hyun Hong vs Yuan Zhou – Winner: Seung Hyun Hong Game Record

Board 1 game reviewed by Myungwan Kim 9p – Game Record

Photos of the final round that took place in Tacoma on August 3rd, 2013.

Picture by Phil Straus, story from the E-Journal